1995 GCC IRS 1024 and Attachments

This Global Climate Coalition (GCC) Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Form 1024, and supporting documents, reflects the GCC’s application to be considered a tax-exempt 501(c)(6). The attachments include a cover letter from the IRS, IRS Form 8718, IRS Form 2848, a list of GCC’s Board of Directors and Officers, statements of yearly revenues and expenses, a dues schedule, articles of incorporation, bylaws, and public-facing GCC materials. The industry-funded GCC opposed greenhouse gas regulations through direct engagement and collaboration with affiliated climate deniers from 1989 to 2002. Its membership spanned across the automotive, utility, manufacturing, petroleum, and mining industries.

The records reflect one million dollars in corporate and trade association dues for an eighteen month period from July 1994 to December 1995 (compared to three million dollars in in tax years 1996 and 1997). The documents also show that the GCC’s “IPCC Tracker budget” garnered 30% of total committee expenditures, two-and-a-half times larger than the average committee’s funds for the years listed.

GCC Board of Directors at the time of filing are as follows:

  • J. Donald Annett (Texaco),
  • Joseph Burke (Union Electric),
  • Red Cavaney (Am. Forest and Paper Assoc.),
  • Robert Cole (Kaiser Aluminum and Chemical),
  • Charles DiBona (American Petroleum Institute),
  • Gerald Graves (Exxon),
  • R.L. Hartung (Chevron),
  • Richard Briggs (Assoc. of American Railroads),
  • Andrew Card (AAMA),
  • Thomas Chaney (Cincinnati Gas and Electric),
  • Richard Creighton (American Portland Cement Alliance),
  • Glen English (NRECA),
  • Roy Hamme (Duke),
  • Dale Heydlauff (American Electric Power),
  • Glen Howard (Sutherland, Asbill and Brennan),
  • Jerry Jasinowski (National Assoc. of Manufacturers),
  • Jeffrey Joseph (U.S. Chamber of Commerce),
  • Thomas Kuhn (Edison Electric Institute),
  • William Leake (ARCO),
  • William Marx (CIBO),
  • Tom Potter (National Lime Association),
  • John Richardson (The Southern Company),
  • John Shlaes (GCC),
  • John Hughes (ELCON),
  • R.W. Jewell (Dow),
  • Jack Knebel (American Mining Congress),
  • Richard Lawson (National Coal Association),
  • Diane Liebman (CSX),
  • Dave Parker (Aluminum Association),
  • Jesse Price (Illinois Power),
  • Andrew Sharkey (American Iron and Steel Institute),
  • Fred Webber (Chemical Manufacturers Assoc.),
  • J. Bryan Whitworth (Phillips Petroleum), and
  • Bruce Windham (Drummond Company).

Interested in more GCC documents? See more in the full Global Climate Coalition collection.

Share this post on your feed

Twitter Facebook Google+
Click on below tags to see similar posts:
, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *